Blast From The Past

Hello everyone,

I was just going through some old things of mine and came across a book (or a bunch of loose papers bound by a paper clip) of poetry. I saw one that was interesting that I wrote in 1998 after Tupac Shakur had died. I took many of his song titles and made a story out of them. I’m looking at it now and I’m thinking “Wow, even then I had strong talent.  So I’m presenting to you all, for your reading pleasure…The Letter An ode to Tupac. (All the song titles are in caps.

DEAR MAMA,

I’m in over my head, BRENDA’S GOT A BABY. I GET AROUND but now I feel TRAPPED. SHORTY WANNA BE A THUG. So now IT’S ALL ABOUT YOU. So HOLD YA HEAD, HAIL MARY and PICTURE ME ROLLIN. I AIN’T MAD AT CHA so keep on looking for that CALIFORNIA LOVE. Don’t be KRAZY JUST LIKE DADDY, but TO LIVE AND DIE IN LA is the LIFE OF AN OUTLAW. Always remember AGAINST ALL ODDS, ONLY GOD CAN JUDGE ME. So I GOT MY MIND MADE UP that no matter what LIFE GOES ON.  So until I see you in THUG MANSION I’ll continue to be AMERICA’S MOST WANTED while STARING AT THE WORLD THROUGH MY REARVIEW.

Yeah I saw some of these songs and was ready to pull out my CD’s and start bobbing my head to the beat but then I remembered that I’m older and would look kind of crazy if I did that.

Thanks for reading.

 

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

